New book on Assessment of Climate Change over the Indian Region

A new open access book on Assessment of Climate Change over the Indian Region has been published. The book discusses the influence of human-induced global climate change over the Indian subcontinent and the regional monsoon, the adjoining Indian Ocean and the Himalayas. It also briefly discusses policy relevant information based on robust scientific analysis and assessments of the observed and future projected climate change over the Indian region.

Front Cover Assessment of Climate Change over the Indian Region

The assessments presented in this book are based on peer-reviewed scientific publications, published IPCC reports, analyses of long-term observed climate records, paleoclimate reconstructions, reanalysis datasets and climate model projections from the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) through their Coupled Model Intercomparison Project (CMIP) and the COordinated Regional climate Downscaling EXperiment (CORDEX South Asia) scientific projects.

A salient feature of this report is the inclusion of introductory results based on the CMIP Phase 6 (CMIP6) projections of the Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology (IITM) Earth System Model (IITM-ESM)—the first climate model from India — developed at the Centre for Climate Change Research-IITM, which is contributing to the Sixth IPCC Assessment Report (IPCC AR6) to be released in 2021.

This is the first climate change report for the Indian region from the Ministry of Earth Sciences, Government of India. M. Rajeevan, Secretary at the Ministry of Earth Sciences writes, “The need for a comprehensive assessment report on climate change was felt for a long time… This report will be very useful for policy makers, researchers, social scientists, economists, and students. I congratulate the editors and contributors for bringing out this valuable national climate change assessment report.”

Available: Assessment of Climate Change over the Indian Region

Editors: R. Krishnan, J. Sanjay, Chellappan Gnanaseelan, Milind Mujumdar, Ashwini Kulkarni and Supriyo Chakraborty.